How to Get Your CSSLP Certification

Here are the steps to become a certified CSSLP:

1. Obtain the Required Experience

  • Have a minimum of 4 years of cumulative paid full-time professional experience in the software development lifecycle (SDLC) in 1 or more of the 8 domains of the (ISC)² CSSLP CBK or 3 years of cumulative paid full-time professional experience in the SDLC in 1 or more of the 8 domains of the (ISC)² CSSLP CBK  with a 4-year college degree, or regional equivalent in Computer Science, Information Technology (IT) or related fields.
  • Don’t have the experience? Become an Associate of (ISC)² by successfully passing the CSSLP exam. You’ll have 5 years to earn your experience to become a CSSLP.

PLEASE NOTE: Effective July 1, 2017, the CSSLP exam will be based on a new exam outline. The professional work experience requirement for the CSSLP remains 4 years, but some of the domains and their weights have changed. Please refer to the CSSLP Exam Outline and our FAQs for details.

2. Schedule the Exam

3. Pass the Exam

Pass the CSSLP examination with a scaled score of 700 points or greater.  Read the Exam Scoring FAQs.

4. Complete the Endorsement Process

Once you are notified that you have successfully passed the examination, you will be required to have your application endorsed before the credential can be awarded. An endorsement form for this purpose must be completed and signed by an (ISC)² certified professional who is an active member, and who is able to attest to your professional experience. With the Endorsement Time limit, you are required to become certified within 9 months of the date of your exam OR become an Associate of (ISC)². If you do not become certified or an Associate of (ISC)² within 9 months of the date of your exam you will be required to retake the exam in order to become certified. [(ISC)² can act as an endorser for you if you cannot find a certified individual to act as one.] Please refer to the Endorsement Assistance Guidelines for additional information about the endorsement requirements.

5. Maintain the CSSLP Certification

Recertification is required every three years, with ongoing requirements to maintain your credentials in good standing. This is primarily accomplished through continuing professional education (CPE) credits. CSSLPs are required to earn and post am minimum of 30 CPE credits (of the 90 CPE credits required in the three-year certification cycle) and pay the AMF of US$100 during each year of the three-year certification cycle before the member's certification or recertification annual anniversary date.

Passing candidates will be randomly selected and audited by (ISC)² Services prior to issuance of any certificate. Multiple certifications may result in a candidate being audited more than once.

If you want to know more about how to get your CSSLP certification request more information.

certs chart top

 orange line

White Paper

The Need for
Improved Software Quality

Download Now  

orange line  


CSSLP Named #1 Tech Cert that is Paying Off by Foote Partners

csslp named #1 tech certFoote Partners found that IT professionals with certs continue to see a competitive edge in compensation. Out of the top 20 certs that Foote predicts will increase in value the first half of 2014, CSSLP is #1.

Read the article orange arrow small