As the year comes to a close, we recap and celebrate the winners from our recent Global Achievement Awards, and encourage you to nominate deserving cybersecurity professionals for 2024.

Harold F. Tipton Lifetime Achievement Award

Named after Harold F. Tipton, CISSP, known as the “George Washington of information security,” this award recognizes members for their lifelong contributions to the advancement of information security and the profession by serving, over the long term, with sustained excellence and distinction throughout their entire cybersecurity career.

Joye Purser, CISSP

Joye is a Global Lead for Field Cybersecurity at Veritas Technologies. We honor her for her tenure at DHS/CISA, serving as the inaugural senior executive for U.S. Region 4, successfully integrating physical security and cybersecurity field staff operations. Her cybersecurity impact extends through numerous roles, including an IT program audit leader for the Secretary of Defense, program examiner for the Department of Defense's $93 billion research budget, and consultant for enterprise risk management. An advocate for Cyversity, YearUp and WiCys, she demonstrates an unwavering commitment to the cybersecurity community, securing a corporate donation for Cyversity's apprenticeship program and showcasing her capacity for impactful change.

James R. Wade ISC2 Service Award

This award recognizes volunteers who have provided sustained and valuable service to ISC2. Named in memory of James R. Wade, an esteemed, long-time contributor to ISC2, this award is ISC2’s privilege to honor his legacy.


Ken is aSenior Manager of Information Security at Lowenstein Sandler LLP. In his role as president of the ISC2 New Jersey Chapter, he created a thriving security community and has engaged in many outreach and volunteer opportunities that positively impact and uplift the security community. Ken presents at conferences to educate audiences about the evolving cybersecurity and privacy landscape, and also mentors college students who are breaking into the cybersecurity field.

ISC2 Inclusion Impact Awards

Recognizing individuals who have made significant contributions to driving a more diverse workforce in the global cybersecurity community by initiating and leading actions to remove barriers and positively impact the diversity, equity and inclusion of the cyber profession.

Americas: Larry Whiteside, Jr.

Larry is a CISO at RegScale and Co-founder and President of Cyversity. We commend his dedication to providing vital resources, community-building opportunities and knowledge advancement, opening doors for underrepresented professionals. He has been one of the biggest champions and advocates for DEI measures within the cybersecurity industry. From putting in the work at his organizations to speaking at important industry conferences, Larry has spread the message of the need for inclusion globally.

EMEA: Iretioluwa Akerele

Iretioluwa is the co-founder of Cyblack. We honor Iretioluwa for championing diversity education, forging partnerships and advocating for marginalized groups. She has left an indelible mark that will continue to shape the industry for years. Her passion for supporting people starting their careers in cybersecurity is contagious and through her leadership and unwavering dedication, she has set a new standard for what is possible, leaving an enduring legacy that will continue to inspire generations to come.

Latin America: Braian Alejandro Arroyo, CC

Braian is a Senior Information Security Analyst, Cyber Intelligence at Telefonica Argentina. We celebrate Braian for driving cybersecurity awareness and online child protection initiatives. His leadership promotes diversity and inclusion across numerous sectors, including education, law enforcement, sports and the broader community.

This year, the ISC2 DEI Advisory Committee has chosen a global award honoree, recognizing an individual who has provided outstanding contributions, impact and influence in the global community in diversity, equity and inclusion of the cyber profession. The global recipient for the Inclusion Impact Award is Larry Whiteside, Jr.