CCSP – How to Certify

How to Get Your CCSP Certification

Here are the steps to get your CCSP certification from (ISC)²:

1. Obtain the Required Experience

Candidate must have a minimum of five (5) years of cumulative paid full-time information technology experience, of which three (3) years must be in information security and one (1) year in one of the six (6) domains of the CCSP examination. Earning the Cloud Security Alliance’s CCSK certificate can be substituted for one (1) year of experience in one of the six (6) domains of the CCSP examination. Earning (ISC)²’s CISSP credential can be substituted for the entire CCSP experience requirement.

CCSK logo smallLogo CISSP

Don't have the required experience? Become an Associate of (ISC)² by successfully passing the CCSP exam. 

2. Schedule the Exam

3. Pass the Exam

Pass the CCSP examination with a scaled score of 700 points or greater. Read the Exam Scoring FAQs.

4. Complete the Endorsement Process

Once you are notified that you have successfully passed the examination, you will be required to have your application endorsed before the credential can be awarded. An endorsement form for this purpose must be completed and signed by an (ISC)² certified professional who is an active member, and who is able to attest to your professional experience. With the endorsement time limit, you are required to become certified within nine months of the date of your exam OR become an Associate of (ISC)². If you do not become certified or an Associate of (ISC)² within nine months of the date of your exam, you will be required to retake the exam in order to become certified. [(ISC)² can act as an endorser for you if you cannot find a certified individual to act as one.] Please refer to the Endorsement Assistance Guidelines for additional information about the endorsement requirements.

5. Maintain the Certification

Recertification is required every three years, with ongoing requirements to maintain your credentials in good standing. This is primarily accomplished through continuing professional education (CPE) credits. CCSPs are required to earn and post a minimum of 30 CPE credits and pay the AMF of US$100 during each year of the three-year certification cycle before the member’s certification or recertification annual anniversary date.

For more details concerning annual maintenance and renewal requirements, please contact (ISC)² Member Services at

Audit Notice*

Passing candidates will be randomly selected and audited by (ISC)² Member Services prior to issuance of any certificate. Multiple certifications may result in a candidate being audited more than once.

CCSP Logo Stacked