Top of Page

(ISC)² Opens Nominations for Thirteenth Annual U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Awards

Alexandria, VA., U.S.A., February 22, 2016 — (ISC)²® (“ISC-squared”) today announced it is now accepting nominations for its 2016 U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Awards (GISLA®). (ISC)² officials, sponsors and others will honor the 2016 GISLA recipients at a gala dinner and awards ceremony being held on May 19, 2016, in conjunction with (ISC)²’s CyberSecureGov training event in Washington, D.C.

The GISLA program, which is sponsored by the (ISC)² U.S. Government Advisory Council (USGAC), was established in 2004 as part of (ISC)²’s effort to recognize government information security leaders whose commitment to excellence is helping to improve government information security and to advance an in-demand workforce. Awards are given in several categories to recognize individuals whose initiatives in the areas of technology improvement, process/policy improvement, workforce improvement and as an up-and-comer have led to significant improvements in the security posture of a department, agency or the entire U.S. government. Awards are also given for outstanding team projects in the areas of community awareness and industry partnership.

“Each year, GISLA nominees demonstrate that people can be their organization’s greatest cybersecurity asset,” said Dan Waddell, CISSP, CAP, PMP, (ISC)² managing director, North America Region, and director, U.S. Government Affairs. “Through the GISLA program, (ISC)² is in the unique position to set the bar for the future workforce and to validate to organizations that investing in the human element of security will yield a high return.”

A nominations committee comprised of senior information security experts from government and industry will review and select winners from the six categories of finalists based upon the selection criteria and eligibility requirements. To nominate a candidate for a GISLA, please go to and complete the submission form. The submission deadline for nominations is March 11, 2016.


About (ISC)²® 
Formed in 1989, (ISC)² is the largest not-for-profit membership body of certified cyber, information, software and infrastructure security professionals worldwide, with over 110,000 members in more than 160 countries. Globally recognized as the Gold Standard, (ISC)² issues the Certified Authorization Professional (CAP®), Certified Cyber Forensics Professional (CCFP®), Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSPSM), Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP®) and related concentrations, Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLPÒ), HealthCare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner (HCISPP®) and Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP®) credentials to qualifying candidates. (ISC)²’s certifications are among the first information technology credentials to meet the stringent requirements of ISO/IEC Standard 17024, a global benchmark for assessing and certifying personnel. (ISC)² also offers education programs and services based on its CBK®, a compendium of information and software security topics. More information is available at 


# # #

© 2016, (ISC)² Inc., (ISC)², CAP, CCFP, CISSP, CSSLP, HCISPP, SSCP and CBK are registered marks, and CCSP is a service mark, of (ISC)², Inc.

View PDF version.

Media Contact
Courtney Jewell Beveridge
Extension Group