(ISC)² Security Transcends Technology



View pdf version

Media Contact:
Courtney Jewell Beveridge
Extension Group
(703) 618-8205


(ISC)²® Names 2010 U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Award Finalists

Individual and Team Achievements Model Excellence for Industry in Human Capital Crisis

September 27, 2010 (ISC)²® (“ISC-squared”), the world’s largest information security professional body and administrators of the CISSP®,  today announced the finalists for its seventh annual U.S. Government Information Security Leadership Awards (GISLAs).

In 2010, the GISLAs were broadened to recognize both individuals and teams whose initiatives have significantly enhanced the security posture of a department, agency or the entire federal government. Winners will be awarded in the categories of technology, policy/process, community awareness, workforce and federal contractor.

“Over its brief history, the GISLAs have gained prestige by helping to showcase information security as a business enabler, one that is now absolutely critical to the mission of the federal government,” says W. Hord Tipton, CISSP-ISSEP, CAP, CISA, executive director of (ISC)2 and former CIO of the U.S. Department of Interior. “As we continue to face a shortage of qualified information security personnel, the GISLA Program provides a platform for information security leaders who are modeling information security innovation and best practices to both inspire their peers and for others considering the field.”

The 2010 GISLA finalists are as follows:

Category: Community Awareness

Individual Finalist:

  • Erich G. Fronck, Jr., SSCP, MCNE, MCSE, CDE, CCSE, network information security officer, Department of Veterans Affairs

Team Finalist:

  • National Cybersecurity Division, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Category: Federal Contractor

Individual Finalists:

  • Kenneth A. Buszta, CISSP-ISSMP, CISM, CHS-III, CRMP, NSA IAM, NSA IEM, principal, information assurance, Integrity Applications Incorporated
  • Dennis M. Seymour, CISSP, PMP, senior security architect, Ellumen. Inc.

Team Finalists:

  • MCSW Certification and Accreditation Team, Quantech Services, Inc.
  • TalaTek LLC

Category: Process/Policy Improvement

Individual Finalists:

  • Ken Brodie, CISSP, chief, Information Assurance Division, Network Services Directorate, U.S. Air Force
  • April Giles, CISSP, CISM, CISA, FIPS 201 program manager and chief architect, General Services Administration

Team Finalist:

  • DBSAE Software Security IPT Team,  Business Transformation Agency for the U.S. Department of Defense 

Category: Technology Improvement

Individual Finalists:

  • Kenneth J. Kurz, CISSP, chief, National Cryptographic Solutions Management Office, National Security Agency
  • Catherine E. Peterson, ICE, OCIO, IAD, chief, Cyber Identity Management Branch, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

Team Finalists:

  • CLEAR Project Team, Office of Naval Intelligence, U.S. Navy
  • Lightweight Portable Security Team, U.S. Air Force  

Category: Workforce Improvement

Individual Finalist:

  • Thomas W. Schankweiler III, CISSP, chief information security officer, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services 

Team Finalist:

  • Assuring the Information Infrastructure (AII) Team, National Defense University 

Each year, a  nominations committee of senior information security experts from (ISC)²’s U.S. Government Advisory Board for Cyber Security (GABCS) and industry reviews the nominees and recommends finalists based upon its selection criteria and eligibility requirements.

(ISC)² officials and sponsors, including SAIC, Raytheon, Cisco, General Dynamics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Digital Government Institute and 1105 Media, will honor the GISLA winners on October 6, 2010, in the Washington D.C. area. Prof. Howard Schmidt, CISSP, CSSLP, Fellow of (ISC)2, a former (ISC)² board member and current White House cybersecurity coordinator, is scheduled as keynote speaker. 


Government Information Security Leadership Awards (GISLAs)

About (ISC)2

© 2010, (ISC)² Inc. (ISC)², CISSP, ISSAP, ISSMP, ISSEP, and CSSLP, CAP, SSCP and CBK are registered marks of (ISC)², Inc. 


TwitterYouTube(ISC)² blog