emea isla header


Honouring the Information Security Workforce in the EMEA

After 11 consecutive years of success in the Americas and Asia Pacific, the Information Security Leadership Awards (ISLA) are coming to the EMEA!

The (ISC)² EMEA ISLA Awards are a unique opportunity for you to nominate fellow information security and management professionals that go the extra mile to enhance security throughout the private and public sectors across Europe, the Middle East and Africa. Your nominee could be a well-known figure, a stand out leader or equally, an unsung hero working tirelessly in the background.

These are the only awards that give the professional cybersecurity community — including our vast and vibrant membership of over 20,000 across the region — a credible opportunity to recognise peers and provide notable exposure from the world’s largest nonprofit membership organisation in our field.

Why not show your appreciation for achievement that has impressed you as we shine a spotlight on and celebrate the tremendous amount of talent in this region. 

Award Categories

Keep an eye out for remarkable projects and initiatives!

You will have a key role as you will be responsible for nominating the Information Security professionals who have distinguished themselves under specific projects, programmes and initiatives, over the region in the 4 following categories: 

  • Senior Information Security Professional – someone who has significantly contributed to the enhancement of the information security workforce by demonstrating a leadership role in any information security workforce improvement initiative, program or project. Candidates in this category typically should have at least five years of work experience directly related to information security.
  • Information Security Practitioner – an individual who has distinguished themselves for implementing and/or managing the implementation of a component of a security program. Candidates in this category typically should have at least three years of work experience directly related to information security.
  • Up-and-Coming Information Security Professional – a person who is a new, rising star in the information security field. The project, improvement or initiative may not relate to leadership as with the other categories, but rather something that relates to their current position or educational.
  • Woman Information Security Professional - a female who through her work and commitment, has contributed to women’s representation in the profession and raised awareness to encourage vocations among women. Candidates in this category typically should have at least three years of work experience directly related to information security. 

Submissions must align with the category for which they are nominated and will be judged based upon completeness and accuracy of the information provided. Nominations are also judged based on the overall influence, effectiveness and success of the nominees' project, initiative or improvement. Nominators and/or supporting project members may be contacted by a member of the EMEA ISLA Judges Committee to confirm the accuracy of the information provided.  


Nomination open on the 12th June and close on the 12th July. You can make your submission via (ISC)² Global Awards Program nomination portal.

Nominations are open to, members and non-members from the EMEA region (barring (ISC)² staff and the judging panel) and it is free to put someone forward. Nominators can come from anywhere, they do not have to be from the EMEA region.

Submissions will be judged by members of the Europe, Middle East and Africa Advisory Council (EAC)

For further information about nominations, please contact us.  

Judging Committee

Yves Le Roux, CISSP, CISM 
Yves Le Roux is the Co-chair of the (ISC)² EMEA Advisory Council 

Previously he undertook network security leadership roles at a variety of organisations including the Rothschild Group, CA Technologies and the French Ministry of Industry. Yves has also co-authored three books on security, and lectures at ISEP (Paris Graduate Engineering School).

Yves Le Roux on LinkedIn

Dr. Yiannis Pavlosoglou, PhD, CISSP
Yiannis Pavlosoglou is the Strategic Change Manager for Operational Resilience at global financial services firm UBS. He is also Co-chair of the (ISC)² EMEA Advisory Council and has held the chair of the Global Industry Committee for the Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) and led a number of projects within that space.
Yiannis Pavlosoglou  on LinkedIn.

Tom Gamali, CISSP, CISA 
Tom Gamali heads up the Group Technology Risk and Business Continuity Management function for Kuwait Finance House (KFH) and an executive member of the US OSAC (Overseas Security Advisory Committee) for the US Embassy in Kuwait.

Tom Gamali on Linkedin.

Rainer Rehm, CISSP, CISM

Rainer Rehm is a Security Architect at MAN, one of the founding members of The (ISC)² Chapter Germany and a member of the Alliance for Cybersecurity. He is also an official (ISC)² instructor and regularly contributes to the development and maintenance of the (ISC)² CBK.

Rainer Rehm on LinkedIn.

Sofiane Chafai, CISSP
Sofiane Chafai is an Information Security expert with over 15 years’ experience in managing ICT and security projects, system implementation, security programmes and business continuity management for large international companies in Middle East and North Africa. Currently, he is the Managing Director of MFC Advisory, Sofiane is an (ISC)² and ISACA active member who contributed to numerous magazines and spoken at international conferences. 

Sofiane Chafai on LinkedIn.


Principal Consultant at Cigital, Paco Hope is a recognised expert in the field of software security. He has worked with many of the world’s leading organisations to help them create secure software. He is the author of two security books, a frequent conference speaker and a regular online author.

Paco Hope on LinkedIn.

Award Ceremony

Hosted at the (ISC)² Secure Summit UK in London in December, shortlisted nominees from outside the host country will be sponsored to attend the evening ceremony. The awards will also be the perfect occasion for our community to come together and network as they celebrate the accomplishments of our friends and colleagues. The winners will join an elite global community of Americas ISLA and APAC ISLA award winners, recognised by the world’s largest information security membership organisation.

See last year's Americas ISLA winners.

Discover APAC ISLA's showcased projects and honorees.

Follow (ISC)² to keep up-to-date with the latest EMEA ISLA News, follow on LinkedIn, Facebook, and Twitter