DoD Directive 8570.1

(ISC)² Certifications Meet the Requirements

The U.S. Department of Defense Directive 8570.1, signed in August of 2004, requires every full- and part-time military service member, defense contractor, civilian and foreign employee with "privileged access" to a DoD system, regardless of job series or occupational specialty, to obtain a commercial certification credential that has been accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). (ISC)² was the first organization to receive ANSI accreditation under ISO/IEC Standard 17024 for its CISSP® certification. The SSCP, CAP, CSSLP, CISSP-ISSAP, CISSP-ISSEP and CISSP-ISSMP certifications have also met these requirements and has been approved by ANSI to the ISO/IEC Standard 17024.

Directive 8570 divides the workforce into position categories or specialties with various levels within each (see chart below*). It also specifies the types of commercial certifications that qualify for each of the defined categories.  Note that (ISC)² certifications are in bold.

DoD 8570 Chart

*As of July 2015, the certifications shown above are the only commercial certifications DoD will accept as fulfillment for the 8570.1M requirement.

(ISC)² Training Seminars

To learn more about the (ISC)² Training Seminars, please refer to the following pages:

(ISC)² Certification Examinations

Download a brochure to learn more about (ISC)² and the DoD 8570 Mandate