How to Get Your CCFP Certification

Earn the CCFP from (ISC)² by taking the following steps:

1. Obtain the Required Education and Experience

Candidates must have a 4-year college degree leading to a baccalaureate, or regional equivalent, plus 3 years of cumulative paid, full-time digital forensics or IT security experience in 3 out of the 6 domains of (ISC)² CCFP CBK.  

Those candidates who do not hold a 4-year college degree leading to a baccalaureate, or regional equivalent, must have 6 years of cumulative paid, full-time digital forensics or IT security experience in 3 out of the 6 domains of the credential. Candidates without the required degree may receive a 1-year professional experience waiver for holding an alternate forensics certification on the (ISC)² approved list.

Don't have the experience? Become an Associate of (ISC)² by successfully passing the CCFP exam. You'll have 7 years to earn your experience to become a CCFP.

2. Schedule the Exam

  • Create an account at Pearson Vue and schedule your exam.
    • CCFP-EU: offered in English and German languages
    • CCFP-IN: offered in English language
    • CCFP-KR: offered in Korean language
    • CCFP-US: offered in English language
  • Complete the Examination Agreement, attesting to the truth of your assertions regarding professional experience and legally committing to the adherence of the (ISC)² Code of Ethics.
  • Review the Candidate Background Questions.
  • Submit the examination fee.

3. Pass the Exam

The CCFP examination is a performance-based test. It consists of 125 multiple choice questions, the majority of which are designed to measure the candidate's experience and will require the candidate to read various stories and answer a series of scenario-based questions. Candidates must pass the 4-hour CCFP examination with a scaled score of 700 points or greater. Read the Exam Scoring FAQs.   

4. Complete the Endorsement Process

Once you are notified that you have successfully passed the examination, you will be required to subscribe to the (ISC)² Code of Ethics and have your application endorsed before the credential can be awarded. An endorsement form for this purpose must be completed and signed by an (ISC)²-certified professional who is an active member, and who is able to attest to your professional experience. With the endorsement time limit, you are required to become certified within 9 months of the date of your exam or become an Associate of (ISC)². If you do not become certified or an Associate of (ISC)² within 9 months of the date of your exam you will be required to retake the exam in order to become certified. (ISC)² can act as an endorser for you if you cannot find a certified individual to act as one. Please refer to the Endorsement Assistance Guidelines for additional information about the endorsement requirements.

5. Maintain the CCFP Certification

Recertification is required every three years, with ongoing requirements to maintain your credentials in good standing. This is primarily accomplished through continuing professional education (CPE) credits. CCFPs are required to earn and post a minimum of 30 CPE credits (of the 90 CPE credits required in the three-year certification cycle) and pay the AMF of US$100 during each year of the three-year certification cycle before the member's certification or recertification annual anniversary date.

Audit Notice

Passing candidates will be randomly selected and audited by (ISC)² Services prior to issuance of any certificate. Multiple certifications may result in a candidate being audited more than once.

Advance your it security career

 orange line

White Paper

An Introduction to Digital
Forensics in Law Enforcement

Download Now  

orange line